CHIO Aachen Goes Digital to Crown Eventing Champion of Champions!

Monday 29th June 2020
Author: Nicole Brown

For German, click here

Updated 7 August 2020
WHEN to tune in:

Dressage: 7 August | 4 pm CET, 3 pm UK, 10 am EST
Jumping phases: 8 August | 3 pm CET, 2 pm UK, 9 am EST

WHERE to tune in:

CHIO Aachen Facebook  and EquiRatings Facebook channels and on Clipmyhorse.tv

What can you expect when you tune in?  Get a teaser here and then expect two special shows the weekend of 7th August!

The details:

CHIO Aachen is going digital this year and, working with SAP and us at EquiRatings, we are able to offer a simulated Eventing competition, with perhaps the best field ever seen.

The eventing simulated competition will take place on Friday 7th August at 3 pm BST / 10 am EST (dressage) and Saturday 8th August at 2 pm BST / 9 am EST (jumping phases). The Champion of Champions brings together Aachen's top finishers from 2006 (WEG) all the way through to 2019 plus some wildcards from the top 10 who gained their place via fan voting.

Have you ever wondered what would happen if the champions of the past took on the champions of today at one of the most iconic venues in Eventing? Think 2006 Aachen World Champions Zara Tindall & Toytown lining up against 2019 European & Aachen Champions Ingrid Klimke & SAP Hale Bob. The usage of the latest SAP Predictive Analytics software allows us to do these kinds of simulations and helps us to forecast the results of this legendary field of riders.

How is the field selected?

The field is based on the data and strengths of each combination at the time of their Aachen finish. For example, Clayton Fredericks and Ben Along Time (based on 2006 data) will be competing against Laura Collett and Rayef (based on 2012 data) all the way through to Ingrid Klimke and SAP Hale Bob in 2019.

20 combinations were selected based on their previous Aachen finishes and the final 10 were up to YOU, the fans, who voted for your favourite combinations in a series of head to head contests.

How can you take part?

Fans are able to select their own team of four, based on a budget, to compete within the EquiRatings Eventing Manager app. Play against your friends in your own private leagues, compete for your country in the League Challenge, and compete in featured leagues for more chances to win. Download the game for free (iOS & Android) & play along with us as we find out who will be crowned the Aachen Champion of Champions.

The market for the competition is open!  Pick your dream team by 7th August when the market will close and the dressage phase will kick things off.  Click here to download the app and learn more about prizes and leagues here.

When and where will it air?

The simulated eventing competition will be aired on Friday 7th August at 3 pm BST / 10 am EST (dressage) and Saturday 8th August at 2 pm BST / 9 am EST (jumping phases). You will be able to tune in on the EquiRatings & CHIO Aachen Facebook channels and on Clipmyhorse.tv.

What can you expect when you tune in?  Get a teaser here and then expect two special shows the weekend of 7th August!


For brand enquiries on creating a league for your company contact Maria Muñiz at maria@equiratings.com.  

For more information on CHIO Aachen visit www.chioaachen.de/en/

For more information on SAP visit www.sap.com

Don’t forget to share…

Other Articles