female 4- winners

Fabulous Female Four-Star Winners

There have been 63 four-star winners since 2008. Men have taken 50 (79.4%) of the wins, while women have won 13 (20.6%). Gwendolen Fer, who came through with a clutch show jumping round to win Pau yesterday with Romantic Love, is the only French woman to win a CCI4* over the last 10 years.

Gwendolen joins Julia Krajewski, who won Luhmühlen this year with Samourai du Thot, as the only other female to win a CCI4* in the 2017 season. We still have Adelaide to come next month, where Hazel Shannon will return to defend her title with 2016 winner Clifford.

Eventing hadn’t seen two women win a CCI4* in the same year since 2014. Sandra Auffarth became the new World Champion with Opgun Louvo that year. Ingrid Klimke also won Pau with Horseware Hale Bob, and 22-year-old Jessica Manson won Adelaide with Legal Star to become the youngest four-star winner this century.

Ingrid Klimke is the only woman to win multiple four-stars in the last 10 years.

Ingrid Klimke is the only woman to win multiple four-stars in the last 10 years, with her aforementioned victory at Pau in 2014 as well as a win at Luhmühlen in 2015 with SAP Escada FRH. No woman has won at the four-star level twice in the same season in the last 10 years.

Women have scored multiple wins at Kentucky, Pau, Luhmühlen and Adelaide since 2008, but a female rider has not won Burghley since 2010, when Caroline Powell and Lenamore took the title. We have not seen a female winner of Badminton since 2007 when Lucinda Fredericks won with Headley Britannia.

Which of these 13 CCI4* wins from a female rider stands out to you the most? Leave a comment and let us know!

Comments 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *