Pau cover

Pau On Parade – Preview Stats & Figures

Michael Jung and Astier Nicolas are the only two riders with multiple sub-40 dressage scores at Pau since the CCI4* started in 2007. Astier Nicolas first scored sub-40 with Jhakti du Janlie in 2012 (39.5), then again in 2015 when he won with Piaf de b’Neville on their dressage score of 38.5. This year Astier competes Molakai, who is averaging 39.2 in dressage in 2017.

Michael Jung has gone sub-40 in dressage on four occasions at Pau.

He first scored sub-40 in 2012 with Leopin FST (38.3), then with both Halunke FBW (34.5) and fischerRocana FST (35.4), and again in 2016 with fischerTakinou (39.3). He has never won Pau and this year brings his double Olympian champion La Biosthetique Sam FBW for his debut at the venue. Sam has the best 2017 dressage average (36.3) of any horse in the field.

Nicholson (1)

Six of the 10 winners of Pau made the optimum time on cross country. Every winner since 2011 has made the time except for Ingrid Klimke and Horseware Hale Bob, who added 0.8 on cross country day when they won in 2014. Maxime Livio and Opium de Verrieres have not had a cross country time penalty this year and already have an FOD at four-star level in the 2017 season, finishing fifth at Luhmühlen on 45.3.

Only 10 pairs have finished on their dressage score in the history of Pau.

Four of them won: William Fox-Pitt and Oslo (44.2 in 2012), Andrew Nicholson and Nereo (39.3 in 2013), Astier Nicholas and Piaf de B’Neville (38.5 in 2015), and Maxime Livio and Qalao de Mers (45.3 in 2016). Mary King is the only rider in history to FOD twice at Pau.

Only two dressage leaders have gone on to win the event. Both winners, Ingrid Klimke with Horseware Hale Bob in 2014 and Bettina Hoy and Ringwood Cockatoo in 2008, maintained their lead through all three phases.

Show jumping has determined seven of the 10 winners of the event.

Only three winners led after cross country and went on to win: Bettina Hoy and Ringwood Cockatoo in 2008, Andreas Dibowski and FRH Fantasia in 2010, and Ingrid Klimke and Horseware Hale Bob in 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *